Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Theodore Sullivan Cox Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.062
Scope and Contents
Series 1 (Acc. 1999.059) contains correspondence regarding the School of Jurisprudence (now the Marshall-Wythe School of Law), the Faculty Club, the Quarterly Millennium Celebration, and notes on the teaching of law at William and Mary for the years 1931-1943. Series 2 (Acc. 2008.308) contains material acquired by Dr. Theodore Sullivan Cox in Germany during the Allied occupation after World War II. Includes British, US American and French military bulletins, manuals and pamphlets...
Dates:
1931-1946
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Maximilian Hartman Diaries
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.79
Scope and Contents
Two diaries written by Civil War soldier Maximilian Hartman are included as well as a transcription of their contents. The first diary begins in September of 1861 and continues until February, 1862. The second diary continues from February, 1862 and ends in May of that same year. The diaries delineate the travels and military actions of the 93rd Regiment from Pennsylvania as it passes through Baltimore, Washington, D.C., and Virginia. Of local interest are the descriptions of events in...
Dates:
1861-1862
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henkel Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates:
1783-1874
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center